

# Nanophotonics of 2D Materials (N2D2023)



19.Jun - 22.Jun 2023

Cod. Z05-23

Mod.:

Face-to-face

**Edition** 

2023

**Activity type** 

Workshop

**Date** 

19.Jun - 22.Jun 2023

Location

Miramar Palace

Languages

English

**Academic Validity** 

40 hours

Web

https://n2d-2023.dipc.org/

**Organising Committee** 









#### **Description**

Nanophotonics of 2D materials (N2D) aims in gathering specialists in light-matter interactions in atomically thin materials, such as graphene, topological insulators, thin polar and semiconducting layers and other van der Waals materials, including their heterostructures. It provids a setting where researchers from diverse fields can convene, particularly from classical and quantum optics, material science and condensed matter physics.

#### **ORGANIZING COMMITTEE:**

Alexey Nikitin (DIPC, Ikerbasque, Spain)

Tony Low (U. Minnesota, US)

Luis Martín-Moreno (INMA, CSIC - U. Zaragoza, Spain)

#### **TECHNICAL COMMITTEE:**

Kateryna Domina (DIPC, Spain)

Tetiana Slipchenko (INMA, CSIC-UNIZAR, Spain)

#### **Objectives**

Sharing the latests scientific results in the field.

Getting in touch with other specialists in the field.

Interaction between students and experienced scientists.

#### Course specific contributors











# Directed by



Alexey Nikitin

Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC), Ikerbasque Research Associate

#### **Teachers**



igor aharonovich



Pablo Alonso González

University of Oviedo-Asturias

Prof. Pablo Alonso-González holds a Distinguished Researcher position at the University of Oviedo (Spain) where he leads the Quantum Nanooptics Lab at the Department of Physics. He obtained his PhD degree in Physics from the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (2009). From 2009 to 2015 he was post-doctoral researcher at the Nanooptics group at CIC nanoGUNE in San Sebastian (Basque Country, Spain). Alonso-González´s research activities are focused on materials science and nanophotonics with special emphasis on the study of the opto-electronic properties of novel 2D materials at the nanoscale. In 2014 he received the Spanish Royal Society of Physics (RSEF-BBVA) prize in the category of young experimental scientist, and in 2021 he was selected as finalist for the Falling Walls Science Breakthroughs of the Year 2021 in Physical Sciences. In 2016 and 2022 he was awarded by the European Research Council (ERC) with a Starting and a Consolidator Grant, respectively.



**Harry Atwater Atwater** 

California Institute of Technology



Dmitri N. Basov (PhD 1991) is a Higgins professor and Chair of the Department of Physics at Columbia University [http://infrared.cni.columbia.edu], the Director of the DOE Energy Frontiers Research Center on Programmable Quantum Materials and co-director of Max Planck Society – New York Center for Nonequilibrium Quantum Phenomena. He has served as a professor (1997-2016) and Chair (2010-2015) of Physics, University of California San Diego. Research interests include: physics of quantum materials, superconductivity, two-dimensional materials, infrared nano-optics. Prizes and recognitions: Sloan Fellowship (1999), Genzel Prize (2014), Humboldt research award (2009), Frank Isakson Prize, American Physical Society (2012), Moore Investigator (2014, 2020), K.J. Button Prize (2019), Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship (U.S. Department of Defense, 2019), National Academy of Sciences (2020).



Stéphane Berciaud



Dario Bercioux

Donostia International Physics Center



**Zhigang Chen**Nankai University



#### **Monica Craciun**

University of Exeter



**Robert Hicken** 

University of Exeter



Felipe Jornada

Stanford University



**Ido Kaminer** 



Susanne C. Kehr

TU Dresden, Germany



Frank Koppens

**ICFO** 

Prof. Frank Koppens obtained his PhD in experimental physics at Delft University, at the Kavli Institute of Nanoscience, The Netherlands. After a postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard University, Since August 2010, Koppens is group leader at the Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO). The quantum nano-optoelectronics group of Prof. Koppens focuses on both science and technology of novel two-dimensional materials and quantum materials. Prof. Koppens is vice-chairman of the executive board of the graphene flagship program, a 1000 MillionEuro project for 10 years. He is also the leader of the optoelectronics workpackage within the flagship. Koppens has received numerous ERC awards: the ERC starting grant, the ERC consolidator grant, and four ERC proof-of-concept grants. Other awards include the Christiaan Hugyensprijs 2012, the national award for research in Spain, the IUPAP young scientist prize in optics, and the ACS photonics investigator award. Since 2018 Koppens is on the Clarivate list for highly cited researchers, in the physics category. Koppens has been elected as fellow of the American Physical Society in 2022. In total, Koppens has published more than 120 refereed papers (H-index 69).



**Alexander McLeod** 

University of Minnesota



#### **Vinod Menon Menon**

City College and Graduate Center CUNY



**Doron Naveh** 

Bar-Ilan University



## Cheng-Wei Qiu Qiu



Miriam Serena Vitiello

CNR-NANO



**Justin Song** 

Nanyang Technological University



#### Amaia Zurutuza Elorza

Graphenea

# **Registration fees**

REGISTRATION FEES	UNTIL 30-05-2023	UNTIL 11-06-2023
Fee Waiver	0 EUR	0 EUR
Students Fee	250,00 EUR	350,00 EUR
Regular fee	400,00 EUR	500,00 EUR

## **Place**

### **Miramar Palace**

 $P^{\underline{o}}$  de Miraconcha n $^{\underline{o}}$ 48. Donostia / San Sebastián

Gipuzkoa