

# Conference on Quasielastic Neutron Scattering and Workshop on Inelastic Neutron Spectrometers (QENS/WINS 2022)



# Mai. 23 - Mai. 27 2022

Kod. Z02-22

**Mod.:** Online zuzenean Aurrez aurrekoa

**Edizioa** 2022

**Jarduera mota** Workshop

**Data** Mai. 23 - Mai. 27 2022

**Kokalekua** Miramar Jauregia

**Hizkuntzak** Ingelesa

Balio akademikoa 50 ordu

Webgunea http://qens-wins2022.dipc.org

Antolakuntza Batzordea









# Azalpena

The next joint celebration QENS/WINS will constitute the  $15^{th}$  Edition of the QENS series and the  $10^{th}$  of the WINS workshops.

QENS focusses on the discussion and exchange of scientific ideas related to the investigation of atomic and molecular motions, while WINS deals with instrumental aspects of quasielastic and inelastic neutron scattering techniques. Though originally QENS and WINS were held in an independent way, the added value of their joint celebration has been put forward, since it enhances their scope and impact on the scientific community related with the quasielastic and inelastic neutron scattering techniques.

QENS 2022 will offer a platform for discussion and exchange of scientific ideas among the experts in this field, and a general overview to newcomers about the capabilities of QENS in exploring atomic and molecular motions and relaxation processes of novel materials. As a novelty, this QENS edition will explore and exploit the potential synergies between different methods (including experimental techniques and simulations, but always with QENS in the spotlight), in order to face diverse scientific challenges emerging in different research fields.

WINS --the 10th Workshop on Inelastic Neutron Spectrometers- will present progresses on new spectrometer projects. As in previous editions, the theme of "New idea, New concept, New design, New instrumentation for New sciences" will be followed. New developments in the application of polarization analysis, magnetic field, pressure, or improvements in sample environments for soft matter systems will be covered. Software for data acquisition, analysis and instrument simulation will be also part of the program. In analogy with the spirit of QENS 2022, the synergy with complementary methods -in this case mainly with advanced simulations and extensive Monte Carlo simulations—will be emphasized.

Young scientists involved in neutron scattering investigations can particularly profit from this joint event (and are especially welcome).

#### **ORGANIZING COMMITTEE:**

#### **Chairs:**

Arantxa Arbe - Centro de Física de Materiales (CFM) (CSIC-UPV/EHU) – Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Juan Colmenero - Centro de Física de Materiales (CFM) (CSIC-UPV/EHU) – Materials Physics Center (MPC)

#### **Other members:**

Ane Iturriza - Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Amaia Iturrospe - Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Marta López - Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Jon Maiz - Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Paula Malo de Molina - Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Karmela Alonso - Donostia International Physics Centre (DIPC)

Carmen Martín - Donostia International Physics Centre (DIPC)

#### Helburuak

The main purpose of QENS 2022 is to cover the broad spectrum of scientific activities related with the investigation of dynamical processes in different systems using quasi-elastic neutron scattering techniques (accessing both frequency and time domains).

WINS 2022 will cover innovative aspects of neutron instrument design.

#### **POSTER PRIZES:**

We offer a QENS Poster Prize and a WINS Poster Prize, worth 300€ each. Applicants have to be PhD

Students, Postdocs or Early Career scientists with age  $\leq$  35 years. If you apply for the Prize, please check in the corresponding box of the form. In this case, the video presenting your poster is mandatory. The evaluation criteria will include the design and structured content of the poster and its scientific quality. The names of the Poster Prizes' Winners will be announced in the Conference Diner.

Ikastaroaren laguntzaile espezifikoak



# Zuzendaritza



Arantxa Arbe Centro de Física de Materiales (CFM) (CSIC-UPV/EHU)



**Juan Colmenero de Leon** Centro de Física de Materiales (CFM) (CSIC-UPV/EHU)

# Irakasleak



#### **Frederico** Alabarse

Elettra, Trieste, Italy



#### Katrin Amann-Winkel

Max-Planck Institute for Polymer research & JGU Mainz, Germany



**Ken Andersen** ORNL, USA



#### **Antonio Benedetto**

University College Dublin, Ireland & Roma Tre University, Italy



#### Marcella Berg

Forschungszentrum Jülich



#### **Robert Bewley**

ISIS, UK



Karin Bichler Louisiana State University



Wangchun Chen

NIST,USA



#### **Xiang-qiang Chu**

City University of Hong Kong



#### **Alessandro Cunsolo**

University of Wisconsin-Madison



**Françoise Damay** Laboratoire Léon Brillouin



Arnaud desmedt

Molecular Spectroscopy, ISM UMR5255 CNRS - Univ. Bordeaux



#### Björn Fåk

ILL, Grenoble, France



### Bela Farago

ILL, Grenonble, France



**Antonio Faraone** NIST, USA



Fabrizia Foglia

UCL



#### **Bernhard Frick**

ILL, Grenoble, France



#### Johanna Jochum

TUM, Garching, Germany



Yukinobu Kawakita

Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Section Leader



**Maiko Kofu** JPARC, JAPAN



#### Margarita Kruteva

JCNS, Jülich, Germany



#### **Robert Leheny**

The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA



**Bing Li** Chinese Academy of Sciences, Shenyang, China



**Christopher Ling** University of Sydney, Australia



#### **Benqiong LIU**

CMRR, China



#### sandrine lyonnard

CEA-IRIG-SyMMES



## Paula Malo de Molina

Materials Physics Center, San Sebastian, Spain



ORNL, USA



#### Lucile Mangin-Thro

ILL, Grenoble, France



#### Takatsugu Masuda

JRR-3, Japan



Koichi Mayumi University of Tokyo, Japan



**Feri Mezei** Mirrotron Ltd



#### **Christof Niedermayer**

Laboratory for Neutron Scattering and Imaging, Paul Scherrer Institut



#### Goran Nilsen

Science and Technology Facilities Council



Kristine Niss Roskilde University, Denmark



Marie Plazanet LIPhy, CNRS & Univ. Grenoble-Alpes



#### **Timmy Ramirez Cuesta**

ORNL, USA



#### Felix Roosen-Runge

Lund University, Sweden



**Margarita Russina** HZB, Berlin, Germany



Rasmus Toft-Petersen Technical University of Denmark



#### **Gregory Tucker**

ESS DMSC



#### **Maximillian Wolff**

Uppsala University, Sweden



**Fan Yang** German Aerospace Center, Cologne, Germany



**Gabriele Sala** Oak Ridge National Laboratory



#### Jean-Marc Zanotti

LLB, Saclay, France



## Roseanna Zia Stanford University, USA



Andreas Stadler JCNS, Jülich, Germany

# Matrikula prezioak

IN PERSON ATTENDANCE	2022-05-12 ARTE
Reduced Fee (Students / Early Career)	300,00 EUR
Standard	475,00 EUR
ONLINE ATTENDANCE	2022-05-12 ARTE
Standard	175,00 EUR

# Kokalekua

## Miramar Jauregia

Mirakontxa pasealekua 48, 20007 Donostia

Gipuzkoa