Science et technologie
Conference on Quasielastic Neutron Scattering and Workshop on Inelastic Neutron Spectrometers (QENS/WINS 2022)

Conference on Quasielastic Neutron Scattering and Workshop on Inelastic Neutron Spectrometers (QENS/WINS 2022)

23.mai - 27. mai, 2022 Cod. Z02-22


The next joint celebration QENS/WINS will constitute the 15th Edition of the QENS series and the 10th of the WINS workshops.

QENS focusses on the discussion and exchange of scientific ideas related to the investigation of atomic and molecular motions, while WINS deals with instrumental aspects of quasielastic and inelastic neutron scattering techniques. Though originally QENS and WINS were held in an independent way, the added value of their joint celebration has been put forward, since it enhances their scope and impact on the scientific community related with the quasielastic and inelastic neutron scattering techniques.

QENS 2022 will offer a platform for discussion and exchange of scientific ideas among the experts in this field, and a general overview to newcomers about the capabilities of QENS in exploring atomic and molecular motions and relaxation processes of novel materials. As a novelty, this QENS edition will explore and exploit the potential synergies between different methods (including experimental techniques and simulations, but always with QENS in the spotlight), in order to face diverse scientific challenges emerging in different research fields.

WINS --the 10th Workshop on Inelastic Neutron Spectrometers– will present progresses on new spectrometer projects. As in previous editions, the theme of “New idea, New concept, New design, New instrumentation for New sciences” will be followed. New developments in the application of polarization analysis, magnetic field, pressure, or improvements in sample environments for soft matter systems will be covered. Software for data acquisition, analysis and instrument simulation will be also part of the program. In analogy with the spirit of QENS 2022, the synergy with complementary methods –in this case mainly with advanced simulations and extensive Monte Carlo simulations—will be emphasized.

Young scientists involved in neutron scattering investigations can particularly profit from this joint event (and are especially welcome).



Arantxa Arbe - Centro de Física de Materiales (CFM) (CSIC-UPV/EHU) – Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Juan Colmenero - Centro de Física de Materiales (CFM) (CSIC-UPV/EHU) – Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Other members:

Ane Iturriza - Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Amaia Iturrospe - Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Marta López - Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Jon Maiz - Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Paula Malo de Molina - Materials Physics Center (MPC)

Karmela Alonso - Donostia International Physics Centre (DIPC)

Carmen Martín - Donostia International Physics Centre (DIPC)

Lire la suite


The main purpose of QENS 2022 is to cover the broad spectrum of scientific activities related with the investigation of dynamical processes in different systems using quasi-elastic neutron scattering techniques (accessing both frequency and time domains).

WINS 2022 will cover innovative aspects of neutron instrument design.


We offer a QENS Poster Prize and a WINS Poster Prize, worth 300€ each. Applicants have to be PhD Students, Postdocs or Early Career scientists with age ≤ 35 years. If you apply for the Prize, please check in the corresponding box of the form. In this case, the video presenting your poster is mandatory. The evaluation criteria will include the design and structured content of the poster and its scientific quality. The names of the Poster Prizes’ Winners will be announced in the Conference Diner.

Lire la suite

Activité s'adressant à

  • Unibertsitateko ikaslea
  • Profesionalak


  • Materials Physics Center (MPC)
  • Centro de Física de Materiales (CFM) (CSIC-UPV/EHU)
  • Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC)
  • Eusko Jaurlaritza / Gobierno Vasco
  • Soft Matter Composites (SoftComp)
  • European Soft Matter Infrastructure (EUSMI)
  • Japan Proton Accelerator Research Complex (JPARC)
  • European Spallation Source Eric (ESS)
  • Institut Max von Laue – Paul Langevin (ILL)
  • Laboratóire Leon Brillouin (LLB)
  • Consorcio ESS-Bilbao
  • ISIS Neutron and Muon Source
  • Heinz Maier Leibnitz Zentrum (MLZ)
  • Jülich Centre for Neutron Scattering (JCNS)
  • Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) (Australia)
  • School of Neutron Scattering (SoNS)
  • European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA)
  • Sociedad Española de Técnicas Neutrónicas (SETN)
  • Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI)
  • SwissNeutronics AG


Arantxa Arbe

Centro de Física de Materiales (CFM) (CSIC-UPV/EHU)

Juan Colmenero de Leon

Centro de Física de Materiales (CFM) (CSIC-UPV/EHU)


Frederico Alabarse

Elettra, Trieste, Italy

Katrin Amann-Winkel

Max-Planck Institute for Polymer research & JGU Mainz, Germany

Ken Andersen


Antonio Benedetto

University College Dublin, Ireland & Roma Tre University, Italy

Marcella Berg

Forschungszentrum Jülich

Robert Bewley


Karin Bichler

Louisiana State University

Wangchun Chen


Xiang-qiang Chu

City University of Hong Kong

Alessandro Cunsolo

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Françoise Damay

Laboratoire Léon Brillouin

Arnaud desmedt

Molecular Spectroscopy, ISM UMR5255 CNRS - Univ. Bordeaux

Björn Fåk

ILL, Grenoble, France

Bela Farago

ILL, Grenonble, France

Antonio Faraone


Fabrizia Foglia


Bernhard Frick

ILL, Grenoble, France

Johanna Jochum

TUM, Garching, Germany

Yukinobu Kawakita

Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Section Leader

Maiko Kofu


Margarita Kruteva

JCNS, Jülich, Germany

Robert Leheny

The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA

Bing Li

Chinese Academy of Sciences, Shenyang, China

Christopher Ling

University of Sydney, Australia

Benqiong LIU

CMRR, China

sandrine lyonnard


Paula Malo de Molina

Materials Physics Center, San Sebastian, Spain

Eugene Mamontov


Lucile Mangin-Thro

ILL, Grenoble, France

Takatsugu Masuda

JRR-3, Japan

Koichi Mayumi

University of Tokyo, Japan

Feri Mezei

Mirrotron Ltd

Christof Niedermayer

Laboratory for Neutron Scattering and Imaging, Paul Scherrer Institut

Goran Nilsen

Science and Technology Facilities Council

Kristine Niss

Roskilde University, Denmark

Marie Plazanet

LIPhy, CNRS & Univ. Grenoble-Alpes

Timmy Ramirez Cuesta


Felix Roosen-Runge

Lund University, Sweden

Margarita Russina

HZB, Berlin, Germany

Rasmus Toft-Petersen

Technical University of Denmark

Gregory Tucker


Maximillian Wolff

Uppsala University, Sweden

Fan Yang

German Aerospace Center, Cologne, Germany

Gabriele Sala

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Jean-Marc Zanotti

LLB, Saclay, France

Roseanna Zia

Stanford University, USA

Andreas Stadler

JCNS, Jülich, Germany

Tarifs inscription

300,00 EUR
475,00 EUR
ONLINE ATTENDANCE2022-05-12 arte
175,00 EUR

Lieu de l'événement

Miramar Jauregia

Mirakontxa pasealekua 48, 20007 Donostia



Miramar Jauregia

Mirakontxa pasealekua 48, 20007 Donostia


Other courses that might be of your interest...